Instructions

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

So another busy week has flown by and I thought I would end it with a little tutorial for you all! As you probably saw last week I designed and made myself a bag for my cutting mat and ruler. I thought I would share the pattern with you hopefully saving you the time to design it yourself! Apologies about the lack of photos, when making the bag I wasn’t intending on making a tutorial for it, if anything doesn’t make sense just ask!

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

The bag is designed for a 24″ x 18″ cutting mat (made by OLAF). I used 6 different patchwork fabrics for the quilting on the outside all of which had a chicken theme. For the lining I used a patchwork fabric I found on sale in Hobbycraft but you could use calico or a lining fabric instead. For the handles I used some 2″ hessian tape I found lying around at home but you could make the handles out of the fabric used for the binding. Use a 0.25″ seam allowance throughout unless otherwise stated.

I used:

  • 4 x long quarters of patchwork fabric (you could use more or less fabric designs, just adjust the amount accordingly)
  • 0.5m (some rectangles, binding and handles (if wanted))
  • Cotton wadding
  • 1.5m of lining fabric
  • 14.5″ x 27.5″ heavy weight interfacing
  • 37″ of Hessian Tape (if wanted)
  • Sheeting/lining fabric for quilting

Please note the patchwork fabric estimations are approximate as I originally bought enough fabric to make another project with!

  1.  The first step is to design the quilting which makes up the outer of the bag. There are 63 rectangles in total which will eventually be cut out from the quarter metres and the fabric used for the binding. I have created a free-printable-planner for you to print out if you wish and have a play around using colouring pencils etc to work out which fabrics go where. I used the following design: Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!
  2. Next you need to cut out the rectangles which measure 3.5″ x 6.5″. You need to make sure you cut out enough rectangles from each fabric. In my design I cut out:11 – Pale pink17 – Dark purple

    14 – Light blue

    12 – Dark pink

    9 – Dark red

  3. The next step is sewing it all together. I worked through it row by row, laying the pieces out on the table and stitching the horizontal rectangles together before attaching the vertical on on the end. I then stitched the three blocks together for each row. Press all seams open.

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

4. As I stitched each row I attached it to the previous row being careful to match the seams (I know this takes time but it will be worth it in the end!).

5. The next step is quilting. Cut the wadding and lining fabric to be slightly larger than the patchwork then working from the middle out pin it well! I didn’t chose to tack it as I find cotton wadding doesn’t slide around as much as polyester wadding does.

6. Quilt along the two main seams going down the fabric and along the seams in between each row.

7. Trim away the excess wadding and lining before folding it in half with right sides together. Stitch up either side making sure to go backwards and forwards at the beginning and end of each seam.

8. Take your handles and attach them along the seam lines of the centre block in the top row (as shown below). Fold under the raw edge and stitch a square with a cross in the middle. I chose to reinforce the seams by stitching them twice due to the weight that could be in the bag.

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

9. Cut the following pieces of fabric from your lining fabric:

  • 27.5″ x 21.5″ (x2)
  •  27.5″  x 14.5″ (x1)

10. Attach the interfacing to the wrong side of the fabric for the pocket and fold in half. Top stitch along the fold line making sure to catch the interfacing.

11. Lay one side of the lining right side up and lay the pocket on top matching it to the bottom seam and the side seams. Then lay the remaining lining piece on top right side down making sure that the bottom seam matches. Stitch around all three sides. I chose to stitch along the bottom seam twice for added reinforcement.

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

12. Zig-Zag stitch around the raw edges of the lining.

13. To make the ties, cut 4 pieces of fabric 7″ x 1.5″. Press in half length ways, before opening it up and folding the raw edges into the middle and folding in half again. Stitch close to the edge down each side and across one end.

14. Cut out 55″ x 1.5″ for the binding. This can be in multiple pieces if need be and doesn’t need to be cut on the bias. Press in half length ways.

15. Place the lining inside the outer wrong sides together. Place the ties with raw edges together on each side of the seams for the centre block on top of the lining e.g. inside the bag (should be just behind the handles). Pin at the side seams. Pin the binding in place by matching the raw edges and stitch.

16. Fold the binding over to the inside of the bag and slip stitch down.

Cutting Mat Bag Tutorial with FREE Printable!

 

Leave a Reply

